Loxton High School Careers

SACE Information

SACE Information

SACE study can be particularly daunting. All the rules and requirements as well as the huge range of subjects can scare and confuse you. It doesn't have to be that way. On this page you will find information and links to more information about SACE rules and requirements as well as other helpful material.

The SACE is made up of two parts: Stage 1 (which most students do in Year 11) and Stage 2 (which most students do in Year 12).
You need to get 200 credits to achieve the SACE, through a mixture of compulsory and free-choice subjects and courses.
Your work will be assessed using an A to E grading system in Stage 1 and an A+ to E- grading system in Stage 2. These systems are supported by rigorous quality assurance processes.

To be awarded the certificate, you will need to achieve a C grade or better for the compulsory Stage 1 subjects - the Personal Learning Plan and English and mathematics subjects. You will also need to achieve a C- grade or better in 60 credits of Stage 2 subjects and in 10 credits for the Research Project.

The other subjects and courses span a wide range of learning areas: Arts; Business, Enterprise, and Technology; English; Languages; Health and Physical Education; Humanities and Social Sciences; Mathematics; and Sciences.

Flexibilities in the SACE include cross-disciplinary subjects and recognition of community learning.


Study Strategies:

Effective study habits and techniques are the key to success in the SACE.
Click here to find out more about how to study effectively.

Exam Techniques: 

While you might be able to study effectively, you also need to know the best ways to approach exams.
Click here to get information on how to develop good exam techniques.